



Interest Group on International Legal Theory & Philosophy IGILTP

IGILTP Report for 26 September 2017–25 September 2018

1. Activities

During the reporting period, IGILTP conducted the following activities:

- Manchester Agora Panel 2018. On 14 September 2018, at the 14th Annual ESIL Conference in Manchester, IGILTP convened an agora panel on *Transcendent Principles and Pluralism in International Law*. The panel was chaired by Ozlem Ulgen (Birmingham City University) and featured the following panellists: Carl Lewis (Tilburg University); Mark Retter (Lauterpacht Centre for International Law); Evan Criddle (William and Mary Law School); Hirofumi Oguri (Kyushu University).
- **ECTPIL.** This year saw the successful call for expression of interest for the *European Conference Series on the Theory and Philosophy of International Law* (ECTPIL), initial negotiations with three potential local co-organisers/partners and concrete planning with one of these (see below).

2. Planned Events

IGILTP is planning three to four events for the 2018–2019 reporting period:

- Groningen Customary Law Conference 2019. On 24–25 May 2019 IGILTP, in cooperation with and hosted by the TRICI-Law project at the University of Groningen, NL, will hold the first instalment of ECTPIL. The topic to be discussed is: *The Theory and Philosophy of Customary International Law and its Interpretation* and the call for papers was issued at the end of the reporting period.
- Other events. We are also at the early stages of organising a smaller joint conference with a UK partner in autumn and will certainly host an IG workshop (and/or apply for an agora panel slot) at the 15th Annual ESIL Conference in Athens.

3. Interest Group Governance

IGILTP is governed by the Co-ordinating Committee (CC), which is composed of six members. It runs IGILTP's day-to-day business and organises its regular events, including workshops, seminars and conferences. The CC will carry no responsibility for any financial or logistical aspects of the IG's activities; all such activities will be self-financed and self-supporting. While all major decisions are taken by the CC as a whole, the CC has elected the following officials to hold office 1 May 2017–30 April 2019: Chair: Jörg Kammerhofer; Deputy Chair: Gleider I Hernández; Website Administrator: Ekaterina Yahyaoui.

Members of the CC are elected for four-year terms by the members of IGILTP and may be re-elected. It has a staggered election model, where three members stand for election every two years. The last election took place in spring 2017 and the next elections are scheduled to take place before 1 May 2019. The terms of the current CC members run as follows:

- 1 May 2015-30 April 2019: Gleider I Hernández, John Morss, Ekaterina Yahyaoui
- 1 May 2017–30 April 2021: Noora Arajärvi, Jörg Kammerhofer, Ozlem Ulgen