



# Interest Group on International Legal Theory & Philosophy IGILTP

## IGILTP Report for 13 September 2022 - 30 September 2023

#### 1. Activities

During the reporting period, IGILTP conducted the following activities:

Agora Panel "The Push and Pull of Fairness: Theoretical Approaches to Fairness in International Law", ESIL 2023, 18th ESIL Annual Conference, Aix-en-Provence: three papers were presented by Janina Barkholdt and Valentin Jeutner, Frederick Cowell (2023 ESIL Monograph Prize Winner), and Diego Mejía-Lemos. Our thanks go to Ozlem Ulgen for chairing the panel and preparing the successful agora panel application, and to Andrea Carcano and Kevin Crow for assisting with the call for papers and preparation for the panel.

#### 2. Planned Events

IGILTP is planning the following activities for the 2023–2024 reporting period:

 Pre-event/workshop/agora panel ESIL Annual Conference 2024, "Technological Change and International Law", Vilnius, Lithuania, on 5-6 September 2024: The IGILTP will consider making an application for an agora panel at the next annual conference, and prepare a call for papers for the event. Otherwise we will consider organising a pre-event/workshop.

## 3. Interest Group Governance

IGILTP is governed by the Co-ordinating Committee (CC), which is composed of five members. It runs IGILTP's day-to-day business and organises its regular events, including workshops, seminars and conferences. The CC will carry no responsibility for any financial or logistical aspects of the IG's activities; all such activities will be self-financed and self-supporting. While all major decisions are taken by the CC as a whole, the CC has elected the following officials to hold office 27 May 2022–26 May 2024: **Chair:** Ozlem Ulgen; **Deputy Chair:** Noora Arajarvi; **Website Administrator:** Kevin Crow. The CC has a staggered election of officials model whereby three members stand for election every two years for the positions of Chair, Deputy-Chair, and Web Administrator. The last election of officials took place on 27 May 2022 and the next election is scheduled to take place by 26 May 2024.

Members of the CC are elected for four-year terms by the members of IGILTP and may be reelected. The last CC election took place on 7 May 2023 at which Panos Merkouris and Andrea Carcano were re-elected. The terms of the current CC members run as follows:

- 1 May 2021–30 April 2025: Ozlem Ulgen, Noora Arajärvi, Kevin Crow
- 1 May 2023-30 April 2027: Panos Merkouris, Andrea Carcano

## 4. Interest Group Statistics

As at 8 September 2023 the IGILTP membership stands at 591. We have 951 followers on Twitter/ X.