Website of the Group:
Coordinating Committee: Gian Luca Burci, Stefania NegriStéphanie DagronPedro Villarreal 

2017-2018 ANNUAL REPORT 



Future Events:

  • Conference: “Bioethical and Legal Challenges posed by Health Innovation: the Role of International Bio Law and International Health Law” jointly organized by ESIL IG on International Bio Law and ESIL IG on International Health Law, Salerno, 27-28 April 2020. Call for Papers. Event postponed – new dates TBD.

Past Events: 

  • Pre-conference workshop: ‘Public Health in the Age of Globalization: Questioning the Constraints of State Sovereignty’. Athens, 12 September 2019. Call for Papers. Programme.
  • Summer school: ‘Human Rights and Heath: Symergies and Tensions’, co-organised with the Jean Monnet Chair in European Health, Environmental and Food Safety Law, the ESIL Interest Group on International Health Law and the Observatory on Human Rights: Bioethics, Health, Environment, University of Salerno, 1-5 July 2019. Programme.
  • Panel Discussion: ‘Global Health Governance: The Power of Law’, co-organised with the Graduate Institute of Geneva, the Global Health Programme. Geneva, 26 March 2019. Programme.
  • Conference: ‘Health and the environment in international law: actors, norms and responsabilities’, co-organised with the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law, the ESIL Interest Group on International Environmental Law and the Jean Monnet Chair in European Health, Environmental and Food Safety Law, Heidelberg, 17-18 October 2018.
  • Workshop: ‘Health as a Global Public Good in International Law’, 13th ESIL Annual Conference, Naples, 6 September 2017  Programme.
  • Conference: ‘Public Health and International Law: Challenges and Priorities in Health Security, Environmental Safety and Food’, Salerno, 12-13 December 2016. Programme.
  • Meeting: Salerno, 13 December 2016.


In order to be listed as a member of this IG, you need to ensure:

  • You have paid your ESIL membership fee for this year (if not, renew your membership)
  • You have created an online ESIL membership account
  • You have ticked the box next to this IG in the list of groups in your membership account

If you have any doubts about your ESIL membership or your Interest Group membership, please contact the ESIL Secretariat.

Election Schedule:

  • This Interest Group was set up in June 2016.
  • In January 2018, the Coordinating Committee was renewed: Gian Luca Burci and Stefania Negri will continue as members of the CC until January 2020; Stéphanie Dagron and Pedro Villarreal were elected for a 4-year term until January 2022.