To celebrate the milestone of the Society’s 10th anniversary in 2014, a new membership status was introduced for those members who wish to make a lifelong commitment to the Society by becoming a Lifetime Member. The Society can be proud of the achievements during its first decade but, moving into the second decade of the life of the Society, there is still much to be done.

  • There are requests from many parts of Europe to organise activities promoting the rule of international law and it is important that our Society can and should be more responsive to such requests.
  • The Society aims to develop activities to encourage more young people to join the Society and make an active contribution either during their studies or at an early stage of their career.
  • ESIL needs to consider the ‘internationalisation’ of the Society and look for ways to work with international law experts not just from Europe but from all over the world.

All members are invited to support the Society by becoming Lifetime Members.The new Lifetime Membership status offers members the opportunity to support the Society with a contribution of at least 5,000 Euros. This pledge of 5,000 Euros or more may be paid in instalments over a period of up to 3 years. This commitment will enable the Society to continue developing new activities in furtherance of its mandate to contribute to the rule of law in international relations and to promote the study of international law.

All ESIL Lifetime Members are recognised by the European Society of International Law and the European Journal of International Law.

If you wish to become a Lifetime Member, please send a letter of intent to Freya Baetens (ESIL Board Member).

The Society is grateful to the following Lifetime Members who have made a special financial contribution to support ESIL’s activities:

  • Anne van Aaken, Hamburg
  • Andreas von Arnauld, Kiel
  • Freya Baetens, Oxford
  • Markus P. Beham, Passau / Vienna
  • Ledi Bianku, Strasbourg
  • Christina Binder, Vienna
  • Laurence Boisson de Chazournes, Geneva
  • Gian Luca Burci, Geneva
  • Enzo Cannizzaro, Rome
  • James Crawford, Cambridge  
  • Pierre d’Argent, Brussels
  • Eric De Brabandere, Leiden
  • Donald Francis Donovan, New York
  • Carlos Espósito, Madrid
  • Mary E. Footer, Nottingham
  • Francesco Francioni, Florence 
  • Larissa van den Herik, Leiden
  • Gleider Hernández, Leuven
  • Burkhard Hess, Luxembourg
  • Ellen Hey, Rotterdam
  • Dame Rosalyn Higgins, The Hague / London
  • Luis M. Hinojosa-Martínez, Granada
  • Kaj I. Hobér, Uppsala
  • Işıl Karakaş, Strasbourg / Istanbul
  • Helen Keller, Zurich
  • Pieter Jan Kuijper, Amsterdam
  • Makane Moïse Mbengue, Geneva
  • Frédéric Mégret, Montreal
  • Iulia A. Motoc, Strasbourg / Bucharest
  • Wolfgang Münch, Geneva
  • André Nollkaemper, Amsterdam
  • Photini Pazartzis, Athens
  • Alain Pellet, Paris
  • Anne Peters, Heidelberg / Berlin / Basel
  • August Reinisch, Vienna
  • Ian Rennie, Yellowknife
  • Hélène Ruiz Fabri, Paris
  • Vasilka Sancin, Ljubljana
  • Philippe Sands K.C., London
  • Marco Sassòli, Geneva
  • Stephan W. Schill, Amsterdam
  • Mortimer Sellers, Baltimore
  • Bruno Simma, The Hague
  • Christian J. Tams, Cologne
  • Attila Massimiliano Tanzi, Bologna
  • Ruth Wedgwood, Washington, D.C.
  • Joseph H.H. Weiler, New York
  • Michael Wood, London
  • Sienho Yee, Beijing
  • Ganna Yudkivska, Kyiv / Strasbourg