2024 ESIL Collaborative Book Prize

The deadline for the receipt of books that are submitted for the 2024 Collaborative Book Prize is 15 February 2024.

Please find the ESIL Collaborative Book Prize Guidelines here.

The ESIL Collaborative Book Prize was created in 2022, as a counterpart to the ESIL Monograph Prize.

Freya Baetens and Federica Paddeu are the ESIL Board members coordinating the Prize; please contact them with any questions.


The 2023 ESIL Collaborative Book Prize was awarded in September 2023 during the 18th ESIL Annual Conference in Aix-en-Provence to Anne Peters, Jérôme de Hemptinne, and Robert Kolb for their book Animals in the International Law of Armed Conflict (Cambridge University Press, 2022)

Jury’s decision:

The jury found that the courage of dedicating a whole book to the very specific subject Animals in the International Law of Armed Conflict deserves the prize. The edited volume has been meticulously organized and the result is very coherent. It combines a high level of rigour and imagination and at times amazement. It is thus the kind of scientific literature that a scholar can read with pleasure and curiosity. Its timeliness provides an added value to the excellent work of research delivered by the authors.

There is some degree of legal speculation and lege ferenda in many of the chapters, but the result is solid and surprising, filling a hole in an underresearched area of international law.



Previous Collaborative Book Prize winners:

ESIL Collaborative Book Prize 2022: Helmut Philip Aust (Freie Universität Berlin) and Janne E. Nijman (University of Amsterdam) for International Law and Cities, Edward Elgar Publishing, 2021